Several sites throughout Lewis County contribute greatly to our region and state’s heritage, and you can see many of them up close! Discover Lewis County and the Lewis County Historical Museum have partnered to bring the history of Lewis County to your fingertips.
For a physical version of this map, visit the Lewis County Historical Museum, the area’s hub for all things history, and branch out throughout our area to discover more about Lewis County's past! Also, to get driving directions on your computer or mobile device, click or tap on any of the numbered dots on the embedded map below.
The Sentinel, an American doughboy mounted on a pedestal with four bronze likenesses of the Legionnaires killed during the 1919 Centralia Tragedy, stands in Washington Park for all to see.
The oldest standing building in Washington, the Claquato Church was built in 1858 from the design of John Duff Clinger. It is quite unique for it's symbolic crown of thorns on the top of the belfry.
The McFadden House is the oldest continually occupied home in Lewis County, built in 1859 by Judge Obadiah B. McFadden, Chief Justice of Washington Territory. The McFadden house is a private residence located near the Pennsylvania Avenue - West Side Historic District of Chehalis.
The last remaining public building in the community of Dryad, built in 1903, is the Dryad Community Baptist Church. The "Faithful Four" group of ladies kept the congregation thriving throughout the 1960's and it continues today, holding services for over 30 of it's members every Sunday.
The current and longest used school for Evaline was built in 1925 after a large fire completely destroyed the previous school. Today it exists as a kindergarten through sixth-grade school district with a long track record of stellar parent and community support.
Ben Olson, the President of Stillwater Logging and Lumber Company and Little Falls Fire Clay Factory, lived in this Queen Anne style Victorian in the early 1900’s in what was then called Little Falls, Washington. The Ben Olson house is a private residence.
Built in 1845, this house served as the first federal courthouse, county courthouse, post office, and travelers’ inn as well as his and Matilda’s home.
Services began at the St Francis-Xavier Mission in 1838, and this church is the oldest Catholic mission in Washington State. The Mission was unique for using the "Catholic Ladder" to teach the gospel to Native Tribes in the area and is still active today. Check out our DLC Blog post pn the Cowlitz Mission for more info.
The smokestack in Onalaska is the last remaining structure of the Carlisle Lumber Company, built in 1909, which was one of the largest inland saw mills in the Pacific Northwest.
Fashioned in the style of a German wilderness hunting lodge, Mineral Log Lodge was built in 1906 to draw sportsmen and people seeking the supposed therapeutic effects of Mineral Lake located near Mount Rainier National Park.
As a centerpiece of the small community of Morton, the Morton Depot, built in 1910, is one of the last remaining two-story depots in Lewis County aside from the Chehalis and Centralia stations.
Located in the middle of a triangle between Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Adams, Burley Mountain Lookout offers a spectacular view of the southern Cascade Mountains. The 14' x 14' ground house with no catwalk is a classic L-4 built in 1934.
Located in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest, near the southern entrance to Mt. Rainier, La Wis Wis Guard Station cabin represents the Northwest “rustic” style typical of the Forest Service Depression-era architecture as it was constructed by the CCC in 1937.
Check out our Historic Sites section here on DiscoverLewisCounty.com for more information on even more historic sites throughout our area! And visit the Lewis County Historical Museum to find out much more about them all in-depth!